World Teachers DayWorld Teachers DayThis year’s World Teachers Day celebration in Malawi will be held on two days and two venues: (1) in Lilongwe at Ching’ombe Full Primary school on 5th October and (2) on 9th October at Makawa Full Primary School in Mangochi.


On these days, the Ministry of Education, Science and Technology will award over 100 outstanding primary and secondary school teachers together with their respective District Education Managers and Division Managers drawn from all education districts and education divisions of the country for their excellent work in delivering their teaching services. 



The two venues and dates have been set up because of logistical considerations.  Participants from the North, Central East, and Central West Education divisions will converge at Ching’ombe Full Primary school in Lilongwe, whilst participants from education districts and divisions in the Southern part of Malawi will converge in Mangochi district. 


The 51 Primary and 60 Secondary school outstanding teachers will be celebrated and appreciated with presentations of gifts, prizes and certificates of recognition. The Minister of Education, Science and Technology, Honourable Bright Msaka, S.C. will be Guest of Honour at the event in Mangochi alongside the German Ambassador to Malawi, His Excellency Jurgen Borsch. UNESCO Regional Office for Southern Africa will be represented by Ms. Carolyn Medel–Anonuevo on the 5th October.  The event in Malawi is coming at an opportune time when the country happens to be one of the four countries in Africa selected for a pilot project on National Teacher Initiative (NTI) funded by the Norwegian Government.  The four countries are Burkina Faso, Ghana, Malawi and Uganda.


The event in Malawi has been co-orgnised by the Ministry of Education, Science and Technology in partnership with Action Aid, Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) – Basic Education Programme, EU, Teachers Union of Malawi (TUM), UNESCO and UNICEF.


Author: David Mulera

               Malawi National Commission for UNESCO

               e-mail:  mnatcomunesco(at); dmulera(at)